Safe Security Levels

The security level of a safe indicates the extent and type of a safe’s fire safety class and anti-burglary protection. This degree of protection against burglary and resistance against fire is certified by several independent institutions that are recognised throughout Europe. In the UK, the institution responsible for the certification is the European Security Association (ESSA).

The certification process used to achieve safe security levels involves carrying out comprehensive tests. In the tests, a wide variety of tools are used to determine factors such as the time a safe can resist break-in attempts, how long can it offer fire protection and resistance, and if the safe will remain intact even after dropping down from a certain distance.

Another important thing to note is that the security level of a safe are vital factors when it comes to identifying the insurance category of the valuables in the safe. The following is what you need to know when it comes to safe security levels.

Anti-burglary Protection and Resistance

The most significant standards for a safe’s anti-burglary protection security levels are EN 14450 AND EN 1143-1. You’ve probably seen one of these writings on a safe. Continue reading to see what they mean when it comes to safe security levels under this category

  1. Security Level EN 1143 – 1

First of all, the EN 1143 – 1 and EN 1143 -2 are measures that define the testing procedures and requirements used to test safes, safe doors, and strong-rooms. These certifications are based on sophisticated burglary tests, and in which the ‘successful’ safes receive the relevant inspection marker. Additionally, the resistance levels are assigned depending on how long a safe can resist or withstand a burglar attack.

  1. Security Level EN 14450

Here, the safe level indicates the testing procedure for safe cabinets. From this procedure, manufacturers can make a distinction between security levels S1 and S2.

Fire security and fire protection

One cannot talk about security levels without mentioning fire security and protection. Safes that offer fie security and protection are useful in protecting valuables in the safe against extinguishing water, smoke, and fire. Just like with the resistance grades and anti-burglary protection level, there are also fire security and fire protection security levels. And, they do differ. The most vital of these security levels are EN 1047 -1 and EN 15659. They’ve been explained further below.

  1. Security Level EN 1047 – 1

Safes with this security level protect the contents of the safe against smoke, fire, and extinguishing water for sixty or 120 minutes. Nevertheless, safe with this security level can withstand heat or fire at 1090°C for sixty or 120 minutes before dropping down from a height of 9.15 m.

  1. Security Level EN 15659

Here, the safe provides protection over valuables and documents against the effects of heat for thirty or sixty minutes. These safes are majorly used for light fire storage. They are an excellent option despite their performance being below the S 60 P of the security level EN 1047 – 1.


Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *